Full list of winners at 48th SWAG Awards gala

Spread the love

The 48th Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards was held on Friday, January 12, 2023, at the Accra International Conference Centre.

The awards scheme, which is the longest-running event in the country, was held to award the sportsmen and women who contributed immensely and brought honour to the country in the year 2023.

The Multimedia Group’s Gary Al-Smith was adjudged as the Sports Journalist of the Year for the year under review.

Black Stars and West Ham United star, Mohammed Kudus was the big winner on the night as he took home the Sports Personality of the Year and the Foreign-based Footballer of the Year awards.

The 23-year-old retained the awards he claimed during the last edition beating James Dadzie to the Sports Personality of the Year.

Here are the full award winners from the 48th edition of the SWAG Awards gala:

Sports Personality of the Year
Mohammed Kudus

Footballer of the Year (Male)
Mohammed Kudus

Footballer of the Year (Female)Princella Adubea

Footballer of the Year (Home-based)
Jonathan Sowah – Medeama

Footballer of the Year (Female, Home-based)Comfort Yeboah – Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Athlete of the Year (Male)
James Dadzie

Athlete of the Year (Female)
Rose Yeboah Amoanimaa

Amateur Boxer of the Year
Abraham Mensah

Club of the Year
Medeama SC

Coach of the Year
Augustine Evans Adotey – Medeama SC

National Team of the YearBlack Challenge (Amputee Team)

Administrator of the YearMawuko Afadzinu – Ghana Table Tennis Association

Discovery of the Year
Evelyn Dzato

Armwrestler of the Year
Grace Mintah

Table Tennis Player of the Year
Joanita Borteye – Table Tennis

Tennis Player of the Year
Abraham Asaba

Volleyball Player of the Year
Rashaka Katadat – Ghana Army

Swimmer of the Year
Zaira Forson

Para-Athlete of the Year
Haruna Tahiru

Dedication and Valour
Cudjoe FianooNana Fosu GyeabourAgartha HaganJoseph Addo

SWAG Top 5 Federations
Ghana Table Tennis
Ghana Tennis
Ghana Boxing Authority
Ghana Athletics 
Ghana Football Association

Long Service AwardRoseline AmohMaurice QuansahSammy Haywood OkineGeorge Kuntu BlanksonBarima Otuo Acheampong

Lifetime Achievement Award
K Hlodzie – HandballRtd Andy Sam – Football

Special and Meritorious AwardHerbert MensahSamson DeenMoses Armah
Rev. Emmanuel NiiquayeNana Opoku Fosu Gyeabour IIEmmanuel FrimpongNii Otoo LarkyneOsei Boakye-Yiadom

Corporate Awards
Malta Guinness Ghana Limited
Adamus/Nguvu Mining 

SWAG President’s Award
Dr Kwame Kyei – Nations FCYaw Ampofo Ankrah

SWAG Journalist of the Year
Gary Al-Smith

DISCLAIMER: The Views, Comments, Opinions, Contributions and Statements made by Readers and Contributors on this platform do not necessarily represent the views or policy of Multimedia Group Limited.

Source link

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Comodo SSL