Full list of countries that have confirmed participation

Spread the love


A total of 49 countries have so far confirmed their participation in the 2023 All-African Games to be hosted by Ghana.

However, five countries, namely Cape Verde, Senegal, Sao Tome and Principe, Sudan, and South Sudan, are yet to confirm their presence.

The tournament which is the 13th edition is a 15-day event which will take place between March 8, 2024 and March 23.

In this regard, participating nations are required to submit all data on their team by 11:59 pm on February 25, 2024.

The deadline is to ensure smooth organization and planning for the event.

Barring any last-minute change, the countries that have confirmed include Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Tunisia, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Liberia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Togo, Burundi, Central African Republic, Cameroun, Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon. 

The rest are Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, Somalia, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Malawi, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

23 sporting events including athletics, badminton, cycling, and wrestling, among others have been lined up for the tournament.

16 other sports; basketball (3×3), football, swimming, and weightlifting, will feature prominently in the competition while e-sports, mixed martial arts, and scrabble, will be observed as demonstration sports.

“The hosting of the 13th African Games goes beyond providing a participatory platform for countries to win medals.”

However, it will also serve as qualifiers for the 2024 Olympic Games in Paris for eight sports disciplines.

Check out the full list below:


Source link

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Comodo SSL